Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world’s largest award for children’s and young adult literature.

Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible for the award, which is designed to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature. 

The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child is the foundation of our work.

The Award rewards works or activities of the highest quality but the laureates must also embrace the humanistic values that Astrid Lindgren treasured.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.


2016 Meg Rosoff (US)

2015 PRAESA, Project for the Study of Alternative Education in Cape Town (South Africa)

2014 Barbro Lindgren (Sweden)
2013 Isol (Argentina)

2012 Guus Kuijer (Netherlands)

2011 Shaun Tan (Australian)

2010  Kitty Crowther (Belgium)

2009 Tamar Institute for Community Education in Ramallah (Palestine)

2008 Sonya Hartnett (Australian)

2007 Banco del Libro (Venezuela)

2006 Katherine Paterson (US)

2005 Ryoji Arai (Japan) & Philip Pullman (UK)
2004 Lygia Bojunga (Brazil)

2003 Christine Nostlinger  (Austrian) & Maurice Sendak (US)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing from you but I understand that blogger can be a frustrating experience for many.
Make sure you're logged into your blogger account or google+ account before writing your comment, otherwise blogger will eat it. I have occasionally found lost comments by hitting the back arrow button.
If all else fails, you can contact me on my fb page or twitter.
Thanks for stopping by.